The Beginning

Hello readers!
I would like to start off by welcoming you to my blog “When I Was 18” and thank you for visiting this site. I’m really excited to be finally sharing my first post with the world. Since this is my first time writing on my blog this post is unfortunately going to have to be informative. I have to let you guys know what the site is about first so it’s a necessary evil. I promise that future posts will be much more fun . Okay now that I have that out of the way let me explain the reason why I’ve decided to start this blog. At the present I am 19 years old and a sophomore in college. You would think I’m having the time of my life. Well it’s exactly the opposite; I feel as if this is actually the worst period of my life. I’m not enjoying life as I should be. Before I was bubbly, happy, crazy, and a care-free teen, but when I turned 18 I became this uptight, rigid control-freak. I’ve spent a whole year like this being numb and silent to the environment around me. Life is passing me by as I know it. I’ve spent the entire summer pitying myself on why I wasn’t apart of the living anymore until I watched an iconic episode of Oprah. Now I know what you are saying “an episode of Oprah changed your life?” Yeah and eye brows should raise even more because the episode was an interview with sexy Hollywood icon Raquel Welch. But with that aside I really did take something from the episode that really struck a cord with me. Raquel Welch said “personal issues I never resolved came home to roost.” I feel that I have been taught to ignore issues and found things to distract myself from confronting my problems. This worked well for me for about 18 years until everything decided to pack itself into a nice, big, dysfunctional package and land right on my doorstep. Now I have encountered all these feelings that I don’t know what to do with, until now. I’m ready to move forward to become a better me, but in order to do that I have to question the past and dream of a great future; here’s where my blog comes into play. My mission with this blog is to truly live everyday to the fullest, and to reclaim the person I use to be. To do this I will have to abandon my old wall-flower ways and embrace life. Every post would be a new challenge for myself to overcome. As readers I welcome you to join me on this personal journey. Leave comments on things you think I should try or would liven up my life a bit more. This site is for the public, but it is very personal to me so please keep that in mind when commenting. I’ll end this post thanking you once again for joining me on my quest to repairing, re-examining, and renewing my life. I hope this website will be helpful to you and you’ll enjoy it just as much as I will.

Sincerely,
Ready For Life

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wheniwas18
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 15:20:32

    Great site! Keep posting

    Reply

  2. CJ
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 22:25:49

    Congrats on your new blog! Awesome and informative first post! (Yay!!) First, let me just say that I am right there with you, trying to break out of this shell of a self and become a little lady whose not on the sidelines all the time but willing to get out there! (figuratively and literally, you know?) When it comes to reinventing yourself and living life the way you want to, I think that it is truly important to, as you stated, “question the past and dream of a great future..” Now a days I’ll look at a situation from the past not to just dwell on it and regret what I did or didn’t do, but to ask myself “What can I do differently now?” There will always be situations where those kinds of questions come up. I think that as long as you do what you feel is right, not just what is ‘risky and out there’ or ‘safe and comfortable’ but a happy medium of sorts where you’re confident about your decisions, it’ll be for the best . (I hope I’m making some sense here XD) Good luck!!!

    Reply

    • wheniwas18
      Jul 12, 2010 @ 14:03:49

      Thanks for the support. I will be updating soon, but because school is coming around I have to prepare for that. I love to hear support from readers. It tells me that my blog and motives are not a joke and it pushes me to continue on my journey. Please tell your friends or fellow blog surfers about this blog and I hope you continue reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

